Conservation Awards Committee

Committee Members: R. T. Bowyer, J. K. Braun, H. H. Genoways, K. M. Helgen, M. C. Kalcounis-Rueppell, T. E. Lacher, P. D. Moehlman, T.J. O'Shea, B. J. Sewall, W. P. Smith, R. W. Thorington (Chairman).

Mission:

This Committee administers two awards, the Aldo Leopold Conservation Award and the William T. Hornaday Award. These awards were established by the ASM Board of Directors in 2002. The Aldo Leopold Award was created to recognize a well-established individual who has made a lasting scientific contribution to the conservation of mammals and their habitats. The William T. Hornaday Award was created to recognize a current graduate or undergraduate student who has made a significant contribution as a student to the conservation of mammals and their habitats.

Information Items:

- (1) The ASM Conservation Awards Committee advertised the request for nominations for the two awards widely. There was one nomination for the Aldo Leopold Award in 2008. The Committee judged the individual to be highly deserving of the award, and it forwarded the nominee's name to the President for vote by the Board of Directors. Results of their deliberation will be made public at the Annual Banquet.
- (2) The ASM Conservation Awards Committee received two nominations in 2008 for the William T. Hornaday Award. Both nominees are furthering important conservation efforts. The committee forwarded the name of one nominee to the President for vote by the Board of Directors. Results of their deliberation will be made public at the Annual Banquet.

Action Items:

(1) Budget Items: \$1200 (\$200 for award plaques and \$1000 to bring Hornaday Awardee to the Annual Meeting in Alaska next year.)

Respectfully submitted,

R. W. Thorington, Chairman. (ThoringtonR@SI.EDU)